Connect with us


Amosun’s supporters shout down Buhari as president presents APC guber candidate, Abiodun



President Muhammadu Buhari was shouted down on Monday at the All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential rally in Ogun State.

Those who opposed Buhari were supporters of Governor Ibikunle Amosun. Some of them wore t-shirts with his image as well as Senatorial campaign posters.

DAILY POST reports that this occurred when Buhari raised the hand of the APC gubernatorial
candidate, Dapo Abiodun.

Before this, the president was interrupted severally while reading his speech; the crowd kept screaming inaudibly.

Buhari then proceeded to the other task – presentation of the governorship candidate.

And as he urged party and supporters to vote for Abiodun, many of them replied “Nooooo”.

Sensing that a major embarrassment looms, the president dropped Abiodun’s arm and said “Vote for your choice on election day”.

This was greeted by more noise and rally MC announced the end of the programme after an apparent signal.

It was also clear that the event was cut short due to the charged atmosphere as the president’s security details totally shielded him during the recitation of the national anthem.

Earlier, Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, suffered a similar fate as he was also booed for campaigning for Abidoun.

As Osinbajo, who spoke in Yoruba, said vote all APC candidates “all the way”, the crowd retorted “Noooo”.

This lasted for about 5 minutes as Osinbajo begged them to allow him to speak.

“E duro…e jo, e gbo mi ma (Hold on, please listen to me).”

But the adamant supporters rebuffed his plea and continued to scream “Noooo” and Osinbajo ended his speech abruptly.

Adekunle Akinlade, who vied for the APC ticket, is the governorship candidate of the Allied Peoples’ Movement (APM).

APM had been adopted by Governor Amosun, after his rejection of APC governorship election outcome.

Amosun’s loyalists, including Akinlade, a fededal lawmaker, dumped the APC after the national leadership insisted Abiodun (an oil mogul) won the primary.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: